- Notice: Undefined variable: token in bb_coveo_search_ui_block_page_attachments() (line 53 of modules/custom/bb_widgets/bb_coveo_search_ui/bb_coveo_search_ui_block.module).
- Warning: array_flip(): Can only flip STRING and INTEGER values! in Drupal\Core\Entity\EntityStorageBase->loadMultiple() (line 312 of core/lib/Drupal/Core/Entity/EntityStorageBase.php).
Enable anonymous grading
You can enable anonymous grading for assignments and tests that don't contain the built-in question types. You may add only text and files to anonymously graded assignments and tests.
Student names are hidden while you grade and are revealed only after you post all grades. No indication of students with accommodations is shown.
You can't hide or show student names after students open an assignment or test or submit attempts.
Settings compatible with anonymous grading
These settings and features work with anonymous grading:
- Due date: When a due date passes, anonymous grading remains in effect.
- Multiple attempts
- Parallel grading
- Add time limit
- Add grading rubric
- Align with goals
- SafeAssign: Results are hidden while anonymous grading is enabled. After you post grades, names are shown and you can view the SafeAssign results and Originality Reports.
Settings not compatible with anonymous grading
These settings and features don't work with anonymous grading:
- Allow class conversations
- Collect submissions offline
- Assign to groups
- Add and reuse questions
If you create an assessment with questions, you can't enable anonymous grading. If you've hidden student names and select a question type, you're asked if you want to disable anonymous grading. If you select Continue, the question field opens and anonymous grading is disabled.
When students open the assessment, this message appears:
This assessment will be graded anonymously. Don't include any personal information, such as your name.
Access anonymous submissions
On the Gradebook page, select the assignment title to begin grading. Follow the same workflow for tests.
On the Submissions page, a message appears stating anonymous grading is in progress.
The submissions list only includes a list of those students who've made a submission. All student information is hidden. Student pictures are replaced with the general silhouette. Students who’ve submitted are assigned “Anonymous Student” and a number, such as Anonymous Student 244260. The submissions are in random order—not ordered by submission date.
The number of submissions out of the total possible number appears at the top of the page. Students remain anonymous until you post all grades. You can also view how many you’ve graded in the To Post heading.
In grid view, the column header lists how many submissions you've graded. In each student's cell, Anonymous appears. You aren't able to tell which students have submitted. If you point to a cell, this message appears: Finish grading to turn off anonymity and post all grades.
Grade anonymous submissions
When you select a submission, Anonymous Student and the number appears. You can access the rubric, open student files, annotate inline, and assign a grade and feedback.
You can’t post the grade from the submissions page. You can navigate to other submissions at the top of the page.
On the Submissions page, a graded submission’s status is Nothing to grade. No grade appears until you post all grades.
Post all grades
When you’ve finished grading, select the Post All Grades link in the banner at the top of the page.
Post All Grades only appears to roles with that entitlement. For example, a Grader can't post all grades and disable anonymous grading.
You receive a confirmation modal if you have attempts to grade or some students have attempts left to submit. If you post all grades, anonymous grading is disabled and student names are revealed. This action is irreversible. Later, you can update posted grades and grade late submissions.
On the course Gradebook page, you can view your grading progress. You'll also receive warnings if you try to post all grades before grading is complete or all submissions are made. You'll also receive warnings if you select Post grades on the global Grades in the list where your name appears.
After you post all grades, student names and profile pictures appear. Any grades you assigned are posted. Complete indicates you have no outstanding grading tasks for that student.
At this time, after you post all grades, no label or icon appears to show the assessment was anonymously graded.
Anonymous grading isn't disabled when the due date passes. Late submissions are labeled.
Delete an attempt
You can delete an attempt, for example, if a student added identifying information. Open the menu on the submission page and select Delete. The attempt and grade are cleared and the student can submit again.
What do students see?
Students don’t see any indication of anonymous grading on their Grades page. Until you post all grades, a student sees Not graded in the Grade column, even if you've assigned a grade.
Multiple anonymous attempts
You can allow students to submit multiple attempts when you enable anonymous grading. Student names remain hidden for each attempt. In the gradebook, you can view how many attempts each student submitted and how many you have to grade.
After you finish grading all attempts for a student, you'll see Nothing to grade in the student's row.
You’re warned if you select Post All Grades when some students haven’t submitted all their attempts. If you post all grades when outstanding attempts exist, anonymous grading is disabled.
Student view of multiple attempts
When students view their attempts, they see Not graded in the grade pill. When you post all grades, they'll see grades for all attempts.
Anonymity in the gradebook
Students' identities are protected while you grade anonymously:
- Anonymously graded assessment scores aren't used in calculated columns until you disable anonymity.
- Anonymously graded assessments don't appear in student activity reports until you disable anonymity.
- Anonymously graded columns aren't available for selection when you download gradebook data.
Course conversion and anonymous grading
When you convert your Original course to an Ultra course, existing assessments with no questions retain the anonymous grade setting. Any assessment grades are removed during conversion.